Prof Gunter Berger

Choir Director

Gunter Berger © Markenfotografie

Gunter Berger © Markenfotografie

Gunter Berger, born in 1962 in Greifswald, received his musical training in the subject of school music at the Franz Liszt University of Music in Weimar and at the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University of Music and Theatre in Leipzig in the subject of orchestral conducting. Since 1990, he has been mainly dedicating himself to choir music, shepherding the MDR Children's Choir to European renown as its director from 1990 to 2011, for example. Over and beyond this, he has also worked with the Gewandhaus Choir in Leipzig and the Berliner Cappella, for example, as well as many other ensembles.

Gunter Berger passes on his experiences in workshops and choral conducting seminars, as well as music academies and universities, including a stint as professor for choral and ensemble conducting at the Liszt University of Music in Weimar from 2009 to 2012, to name just one. Since 2015, he has been teaching choral and orchestral conducting at the Carl Maria von Weber University of Music in Dresden. In addition to this, he is also a frequent guest at special choir projects such as, for example, the Song Exchange, a project run by the Rundfunkchor Berlin.

 

 

 

Starting from the 2012/13 season, Gunter Berger has been overseeing the Dresden Philharmonic Choirs as Choir Director. Over this period, he has significantly expanded the educational offer and repertoire for choir members young and old. Besides the better-known pieces, his programmes have also continued to present the public with forgotten or new works that enrich the Dresden Philharmonic's concert schedule. Besides the concert celebrating the opening of the new concert hall in the Kulturpalast, the particular high points of recent years also included a performance of Mahler's 9th symphony and especially the gala concert on the 50th anniversary of the Philharmonic Choirs.

His focus is always on the individuality of every single choir personality: "In a choir, every voice is important. If brought to life successfully, this combination of individual voices and very own emotions creates moments of the most intensive musical experience. To share this experience with our audience and enter into an intellectual and emotional exchange with it is the aim of every concert in my understanding."

Prof. Gunter Berger

Chordirektor

Gunter Berger © Markenfotografie

Gunter Berger © Markenfotografie

Gunter Berger, geboren 1962 in Greifswald, erhielt seine musikalische Ausbildung im Fach Schulmusik an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar und an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy in Leipzig im Fach Orchesterdirigieren. Seit 1990 widmet er sich hauptsächlich der Chormusik. So führte er den MDR Kinderchor als dessen Leiter von 1990 bis 2011 zu europäischer Geltung. Darüber hinaus arbeitete er beispielsweise mit dem Gewandhauschor Leipzig, mit der Berliner Cappella und vielen anderen Ensembles.

Gunter Berger gibt seine Erfahrungen in Workshops und Chorleiterseminaren sowie an Musikhochschulen und Universitäten weiter, u.a. war er von 2009 bis 2012 Professor für Chor - und Ensembleleitung an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar. Seit 2015 unterrichtet er Chor- und Orchesterdirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik Carl Maria von Weber in Dresden. Darüber hinaus ist er oft Gast bei besonderen Chorprojekten wie z. B. der Liederbörse, einem Projekt des Berliner Rundfunkchores.

 

 

Seit der Spielzeit 2012/13 leitet Gunter Berger als Chordirektor die Philharmonischen Chöre Dresden. In dieser Zeit erweiterte er das Ausbildungsangebot und Repertoire für die jungen und erwachsenen Choristen maßgeblich. In seinen vielfältigen Programmen präsentiert er dem Publikum neben den bekannten auch immer wieder vergessene oder neue Werke, die den Konzertplan der Dresdner Philharmonie bereichern. Zu den besonderen Höhepunkten zählten in den letzten Jahren neben dem Eröffnungskonzert des neuen Konzertsaals im Kulturpalast sowie der Aufführung von Mahlers 8. Sinfonie insbesondere das Festkonzert zum 50. Jubiläum der Philharmonischen Chöre.

Immer steht für ihn die Individualität jeder einzelnen Chorpersönlichkeit im Fokus: „In einem Chor ist jede Stimme wichtig. Wenn es gelingt, diese stimmliche Individualität gepaart mit den ganz eigenen Emotionen zum Leben zu erwecken, entstehen Momente intensivsten musikalischen Erlebens. Dieses Erleben mit unserem Publikum zu teilen und mit ihm in einen geistigen und emotionalen Austausch zu treten, ist für mich das Ziel jedes Konzertes."